Toughness up North #3

(The Door)

Now the door could only protect if you knew harm was approaching and to let it in would forever change your view of the world. I felt safe knowing I even at my age had the ability to say yes or no to someone coming into my safety haven, but what happens when evil portrays itself as someone you can trust?

The introduction of my mother’s second husband was one of okay, this guy is alright. But alcohol, is never the cure of what ails you it only masks your evil if what you hide is anger. For my mother who had left her home-Alabama to create a better life for herself at twenty-one, I am sure never assumed domestic violence would be a chapter in her story. Here is what could have happened, my mother could have lost her life in that basement that I feared, but what did happen is twenty-one stab wounds, and her life being spared one night when that stranger within her husband was released. So although that door of security kept out those clear and present dangers, but how does one discover evil that appears kind and caring?

Forgiveness of my mother’s abuser was hard and to remember this part of my life is not easy, but it has had a profound effect on how I deal with a man’s anger. I will never allow a man to think I am afraid of him because fear was a down fall I feel my mother possessed. I just have to keep forgiveness at the forefront of my mind, so I can continue on this journey of self-growth so I can help someone else find their way through some of life’s disappointments. I hope you continue to walk with me on my journey of self-awareness.

Copyright 2017 Pew Partners/ P.M. Mathis

Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLR8xkpr6LpEqvevmmjXMkQ

Like: https://www.facebook.com/pewpartners/

 

Iron-Wood-Door-3011WI

 

 

Leave a Reply

