Tips for Dealing With Sensory Sensitivities

Very good info and it will be somethings I implement.

Anonymously Autistic

People have asked about tips for managing some of the more debilitating symptoms associated with Sensory Sensitivities or Sensory Processing Disorder.

I want to make it clear that I am NOT a doctor and am not intending any of this info to be medical advice. These are just some quick tips that can make your life easier. 

Make a Sensory Kit – Create a travel kit filled with items that make your sensory issues more tolerable.

Every one is different but I always keep the following in my purse:

  • Sunglasses (different darkness levels for indoors and outdoors)
  • Ear plugs
  • Wireless head phones or ear buds
  • Some lotion or scented oil that smells pleasant to me
  • Gum or candy
  • Something to read/entertain myself if I need a break (I normally use my phone for this).

Get plenty of rest – I know I can enjoy family outings and group settings if I…

View original post 236 more words

Leave a Reply

